MEMOIR WRITING CLASSES

I’ve had quite a few people ask me if I’m running any memoir writing classes and the answer was always, “No, but I could…” And now, I’ve done it. I’ve got myself organised and I am going to be teaching a memoir writing course from September 2012.

The class will be taking place at Whitstable’s lovely Horsebridge Arts and Community Centre here in Kent, UK.

Here are the details. I hope very much to see you there. Please tell your friends and family.

Memoir Writing Class

“A memoir is how one remembers one’s own life.” Gore Vidal

Always wanted to write your life story? Ghostwriter and founder of Your Memoir Marnie Summerfield Smith leads a ten-week course to show you how.

Do you secretly wish you could write your memoir? Maybe you’ve started writing and now you’re a bit stuck. Or perhaps you love reading memoirs and are keen to think about them a bit more deeply. Whatever your interest you will be made very welcome on my new course.

I am a writer of 11 years experience and a published ghostwriter. In 2011 I founded yourmemoir.co.uk through which I help people write their memoirs. With this course, I will be helping people who want to try writing themselves but feel they need some guidance and support.

We will look at why we write memoirs, who we are writing for, what we should include, what we should leave out, structure, how to remember, themes, voice, the distinct types of writing that make up a memoir, how long a memoir should be, keeping the reader interested and what to do with our memoirs once they are written. I can offer advice on publishing.

I aim to keep the class small and friendly. Sessions will consist of feedback from the previous week, discussion and writing exercises. Bring a notebook and pen. Ongoing support will be available when the course is completed.

“That’s one regret I have. I didn’t get as much of the family history as I could have for the kids.” Robert De Niro

The class begins on September 10, 2012 for 10 weeks (excluding Oct 29 – half term). Mondays 12.30-2.30pm. Cost £80 payable weekly £8. Visit yourmemoir.co.uk Call Marnie on 07710 721 389 or email marnie@yourmemoir.co.uk for details.

Leave a Reply

